Aboriginal Patient Liaison Program
Search
     
  Aboriginal Health  
       
     
  Advance Care Planning  
       
     
  Community Care Licensing  
       
     
  Chronic Disease  
       
     
  End-of-Life Care / Hospice Palliative Care  
       
     
  Environmental Health  
       
     
  Health Alerts  
       
     
  Health Topics  
       
     
  Healthy Living & Communities  
       
     
  Home and Community Care  
       
     
  Hospital Services  
       
     
  Injury Prevention  
       
     
  Men's Health  
       
     
  Mental Health & Addictions  
       
     
  NH Connections (medical travel service)  
       
     
  Overdose Prevention  
       
     
  Pregnancy - Maternity - Babies  
       
     
  Primary Health Care  
       
     
  Public Health  
       
     
  Research  
       
     
  Seniors Health  
       
 
 
     

Aboriginal Patient Liaison Program


(Photo left to right: Patricia Prince, Mary Wesley, Lillian Lewis, Brittany Brinkworth, Lyndsey Rhea, Lloyd McDames, Ken Solonas)

APLs are an important part of the health care team. They work to ensure First Nations and Aboriginal patients, clients, residents and their families have access to high quality, culturally appropriate care. They help to bridge the gaps between western and traditional medicine ensuring a holistic health approach.

APL positions were created as an Aboriginal Health initiative of Northern Health (NH). Aboriginal Health supports nine APLs throughout the north.


Services:

Some of the services provided by APLs include:

  • Arranging for translation services
  •  Helping patients understand health care processes, procedures and terminology
  • Helping to ensure admission and discharge planning goes according to patient needs
  • Assisting with advanced health care planning
  • Facilitating communication and cultural understanding between patient and care providers
  • Connecting patients to end of life support
  • Coordinating spiritual/cultural advisers 
  • Providing supporting and comfort to family and friends 
  •  Assisting with referrals within Northern Health and to community agencies
  • Helping to link patients to non-insured health benefits
  • Assisting with transition to and within long term care

Referrals:

Speak with a health care provider for a referral to the Aboriginal Patient Liaison program, or contact your local APL below.

Contact:

Burns Lake

Lakes District Hospital

Ken Solonas
Ken.Solonas@northernhealth.ca
250-692-2474

Chetwynd

Chetwynd Primary Care Clinic

Iris Demontigny
iris.demontigny@northernhealth.ca
250-788-7305

 

Dawson Creek

Dawson Creek Health Clinic

Vacant
250-782-8501

Hazelton

Wrinch Memorial Hospital

Angie Combs
Angie.Combs@northernhealth.ca
250-842-4666

North Peace

Fort St. John Hospital

Brittany Brinkworth
Brittany.brinkworth@northernhealth.ca
250-261-7418

Prince George

University Hospital of Northern BC

Patricia Prince
Patricia.Prince@northernhealth.ca
250-565-2364

Prince Rupert

Prince Rupert Regional Hospital

Mary Wesley
Mary.Wesley@northernhealth.ca
250-624-2171

Quesnel

GR Baker Memorial Hospital

Lyndsey Rhea
Lyndsey.Rhea@northernhealth.ca
250-985-5812

Smithers

Dze L' Kant Friendship Centre/ Bulkley Valley District Hospital

Lillian Lewis
lillianr8lewis@msn.com or Lillian.Lewis@northernhealth.ca 
250-847-5211

Terrace & Kitimat

Mills Memorial Hospital 

Lloyd McDames
Lloyd.McDames@northernhealth.ca
250-638-4085

     

     
 
     

Reports